I feel embarrassed to ask this, I have been recording music for 3 years now

RMBRecords

Hi there

I have been recording music for 3 years and now recording through an Apollo 8 using various microphones no problems at all.

My problem has come along using a H4N and video mic pro to record a piano. If I use the pre amps in the h4n not much of a problem, I can work with that audio.

The problem arises when I set the video mic pro (supercardiod, 8inches away top of piano) to plus 20db and reduce gain on h4n. The audio never passes -6db but when piano part gets really busy it constantly stays at -6db and the recording is unusuable. The picture below shows the unuasable waveform.

I have learnt so much more complicated things when it comes to recording, yet this simple matter can't work out why.

Can someone please shed some light please?

Thank you

Roberto

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2015-12-24 at 11.25.47.png
    Screen Shot 2015-12-24 at 11.25.47.png
    86.9 KB · Views: 252
Why are you recording so hot? You should be able to record in the -18 to -12 dB range and capture the dynamics of the piano.

I always record around -12db.

The reason is because came across this by chance.

When I put H4N to record at around -6db using the internal pre-amps sound it absolutely fine but then turned on the 20 plus on mic to bypass H4n to see sound just experimenting and noticed that it was doing this at -6db gain structure. No limiter on, it's more I just wanting to know why it's doing this because when I plug this mic straight into GH4 I always use 20 plus switch to bypass hissy GH4 pre amps.

I don't really record music this way and can get it to work but just wanted to know why this happening.

I'm away for Christmas from my home studio so had to travel light and recording a pianist.

Thank you for replying.

Just speculating, but with maybe just a whisker of experience here: