Humming issue with my BR-1200

ChadRylan

Hi guys, this is my first post here and I am very new to the recording world. The issue I'm having with my BR-1200 is a humming noise when I plug my guitar and the cosm effects are far from optimal. When I touch my strings on my guitar, a brand new Gibson Studio, or any other guitar for that matter, the noise gets better, but not totally. I know it's a ground issue. I took it to Long and Maquades to test it, and they found nothing wrong with it, but I don't think they plugged anything into it. I had my BR-800 plugged in and it worked perfect, and sounded very good. I even tried to plug it into the wall at work with just the headphones on and my guitar only, the same issue. So I know its not a house grounding issue, or looping issue. The one thing that I did notice is my plug in adaptor isnt the original one, but it is the equivelant because it has the same serial numbers that Roland requires for a replacement, and it too is a roland. I'm wondering if it's that?? Mabe somebody give me an old one in place of the original one because it does look like it has alot more wear than the machine does. The machine is in new condition cosmeticly. OR mabe someone sold it because they knew something was wrong with it, changed the adaptor and it still wasnt fixed?? It seems only to do it using the guitar, as soon as I plug it in. Some effects are somewhat ok if their clean, but mainly if you start using destortion it gets really bad, enough to slightly get shocked, not much though, when you touch the strings. Either way, it's making me very unhappy. I just bought it on ebay for $450 shipped to my door. I did raise a dispute. Could my COSM effects be screwed? The drums, ect. sound perfect. How would I check the plug in without spending another $40 on the darn thing? Oh yeah, the little screw on the back of the unit that looks like a ground screw, when I touch it the humming becomes better, but the sound dont. Sorry for rambling, I just wan