How to multi channel record drums!

qunvat

Hi all,

So I'm thinking of recording a live kit (I've been using a TD20 with S. Drummer with great results but now want to try acoustic as an experiment), my set up is:

Cubase studio 4
Delta 1010LT soundcard
Audiobuddy phantom power (2 ins 2 outs)
SE cardioid mic

So the soundcard has about 8 (?) inputs and I know the Cubase will multi record (though I've not tried it)....I'm guessing I need a phantom powered interface to go into the Delta? Is it that simple? Oh and choice of mics? I already have:

SE cardioid
4 x SM58's
Basic but solid bass drum mic.

Am happy to buy some overheads and maybe an SM57 for the snare?

At first I'd be happy with reasonable results (I'm a full time pro drummer but these recordings would be for demos only at this stage).....I've done a zillion studio sessions but never tried to set up and record a kit before.

Many ta's in advance!

Si

I think you only need phantom power for the SE mic, so put that through the Audiobuddy
You should be able to plug the others direct into the sound card inputs.

Or depending on how editable you want/need it to be, you could just mic up the kit as if doing a live gig (through a small mixer) and just take the left and right outputs into Cubase.

I keep looking at this mixer, but haven't had a good enough reason to buy one yet.

Thanks...I want snare / hats / BD / floor / rack / OH x 2 / ROOM separated into 8 channels so how am I going to sort it?

Ta again, Si

The 1010LT is a line-level input device. You're going to need preamps for all the mics but the Audiobuddy only has two channels. A mixer with enough channels and direct outputs would do it, as would a rack full of boutique mic preamps or you could get something like the Presonus M80, Behringer ADA8000 or Focusrite Octopre.