How to deal with writing a crap song

adamangler

So today i wrote a song, spent above 3 hours on it...it seemed great in my head...went to record it and blah, crap, i hated it chorus sounded bland as hell, lyrics were nice but i dunno it was just crap overall lol.

anyone ever done this?
it was like why am i bothering to keep doing this...im new to recording/mixing etc so i still sound amateur at best, i just get that i wanna quit feelin at times like this you know...:mad:

anyhow anyone ever done this?:)

Just gotta run with it - do what you can then shelve it. Before you do though, post it so we can have a listen.

Yes, that's happened to me loads of times over the decades. Still does.

Of (I estimate) the 800 songs I've written, 600 have been forgotten, 200 remain, and about six to ten of those are any good (at best).

There are lots of bits of songs of mine that are "good", I feel but not many complete songs. There has been a lot of heartache along the way.

Still love songwriting though and couldn't stop if I tried. I know that, because I have tried to stop, and can't! :D

Last edited:
Writing crap songs is part of the process of learning how to write decent songs.

Much like Frankie Rage, I've written hundreds of songs (about 200 of which survive and the rest have been lost through the faded memories of time).

Of those 200 I think about 10-20 are decent and maybe 3 or 4 are really good. But I had to write a lot of crap to find my way to the good ones.

The fact that you recognize that your songs are crap is a good indication that you have good songs in you. Too many writers write crap and don't even realize it's crap.

Crappy songs happen. You never know what people may like and your crap mining may take you places you never wanted to go.

It's a marathon, not a sprint.

Just write songs every time you can. Some will suck, some won't. It doesn't matter.