How much $$$ do you charge??

Milkfaj

I am wondering how much people charge to record at their studios based on how much equiptment/experience they have.
Do you charge hourly or daily?
what is your fanciest Mic?
what recording medium?
how many tracks can you record simultaniously?
Do you record full time or part time?
how long have you been recording music?
how long have you been recording music "professionaly"?
Do you give friends/interesting projects a price break?

Im putting together a studio and I want to get a feel for these things. Ive been recording music for over 10 years, but never professionaly. I have an 8 track 1/2" reel to reel, 16 chanell allen&heath mixer, my 2 best mics are a royer r121 and a KSM44.
I want to record part time. Ill probobly let friends bands record for the price of tape and maybe a couple cases of beer. other bands i was thinking of asking for $200 a day. does this sound fair?

200 a day? i hate to start answering questions with questions but the reel tape is seriously on the decline i heard of one of the last companies restructuring and they arent many if any reel tape. i record part time using my computer, usually 2 tracks at a time. i've been recording for about 6 years but shoulda found this site a long time ago. I've been recording professionally (meaning i get paid for what i do) for all of 4 months. lol. yeah friends use it for free because most of the equipment is in their house and thats also where we practice. if your branching out....i would go by the hour...charges go from 25-65 an hour depending on what kind of equipment you have and how good you are. my fanciest mic is the mxl 67g lol. best hundred bucks i've spent yet. as for other bands and your reel to reel.....i'd charge by the reel tape...that aint cheap anymore