Homemade soundproofing question

steffeeH

So I'm about to move to a new place in about a month (I hate it but I have no choice :/), and I'm also an apprentice and hopefully might get a job soon = earn cash again, so I'm having some thoughts about getting a more decent homestudio.
Now I have the most wild thoughts on how to fix the studio, so I felt I better check with you immediately before getting too much fantasies about my future homestudio.

Now, I have 0 experience on soundproofing, so expect me to sound r*tarded. :)

I'm planning to get a couple of 8" Krk Rokits, and an interface with MIDI-in/out, tele-in/out and mic-in/out (can't remember what it's called, whatever).

But the big deal is the room.
We're moving to a very, very old house, and I'll live on the second floor where I pretty much have no walls, just a roof.
Everything is just wooden planks except 2 very small walls on the short sides.
So my whole room has this triangular shape.
First I checked out some classic soundproofing, but then I got the wildest idea: why don't I just put thick quilts (correct word?) along the "walls", carpets on the floor, and some homemade basstraps where necessary.
Would this work well in theory?
I'm producing electro/house so I need to deal a lot with the lowend.

Thanks.