Home Studio 2002 and the Virtual Sound Canvas

Randy Yell

Hey everyone,before I get to my question,please keep in mind that I'm a REAL MIDIOT!!Okay,that said,here is my problem.

A lady and I are making a cd of children's songs for our Grandchildren(yup,I'm an old fart).I would like to use some of the special effects sounds in the Roland VSC to add to the songs and I'm not sure how.I do have a midi keyboard to use but I am unsure of the whole process.I would guess that you record midi with the keyboard and then play the the sounds back through the VSC.Not sure though so any and all help will be very much appreciated.If you need any additional information let me know.I'm pretty new to computers in general and I have no experience with midi at all,so please be gentile!!

Welcome, fellow "Old Fart":D

I am assuming you mean the vsc synth freebie that ships with Sonar?. You will need Win 2000 or XP with WDM drivers otherwise the latency issue will make it virtually unplayable. Here is the VSC Help detail:

To Play the VSC in Real Time .

Make sure your MIDI controller is plugged into your MIDI interface and turned on.
Insert a new MIDI track.
In the track's Out field, choose the VSC, and also choose a MIDI channel and patch.
Make sure that the Audio Engine button in the Transport toolbar is depressed.
Play your controller--you should hear the patch that you selected for the new MIDI track.
You can move the Now time to the marker that's called Solo, and play along with the project. If you want, you can arm the new track and record your solo.

I guess you know how to select the midi track Channel and patch? Right click on the midi track number, select "Track Properties" and this opens the track dialogue box contaning the "Channel" and "Patch filelds".

Hope this helps.