Hollowbodies?

CanopuS

Amateur music since 1847
Right, firstly, I am a pianist, so please forgive my complete lack of knowledge and ignorance, cmon - you're guitarists, you should be used to people trying to play your instrument without any knowledge! :D

I've been playing guitar for a couple of years now, just really picking up my brothers electrics (Fender, Shergold) and my acoustic, but I'd like to shell out for something of my own. I basically play jazz, with a couple of groups, and have been using the solidbody electrics up to now, but when I did recording over the summer the tone we got really dissapointed me, it had none of the wonderful jazzy tone I would have wanted. Now of course, it is probably ignorant to think that getting a hollowbody would make that much difference, but I was wondering if anyone thinks a decent hollowbody below around £300 (say $400) would have a different tone to your standard electric. The two names I see banded about here are the Ibanez Artcore and Epiphone Dot. Does anyone have any opinions, or can just tell me straight that I'm not going to be able to get what I want? Thanks for your time

Check out the Samick stuff. I recently picked up a Artist SAT-650 (335 copy) and I was VERY impressed with this guitar. Much better built than the Epiphones.

you can pick up a nice samick for cheap. another thing to look at is the ibanez artcore series... i have to inspect every guitar that comes into the store in which i work, and those have been the most consistant in quality, inside and out. binding, inlays, action; i barely have to touch the things before they go out onto the sales floor.

Although I value Track Rat's opinion I have to say that I've been very happy with my Epiphone Sheridan II (1985ish). It's a semi-hollow body with dual humbuckers and in my opinion the workmanship is excellent and it plays like a dream. It sounds great as a jazz guitar and will also rock when over-driven.

Just my 2 cents.

rpe

Attachments