Hey guys really need advice...Mackie board

Cion

Hey guys, I'm rebuilding my studio and am currently using two Behringer MX9000 boards. Seems everyone hates these boards for some reason (maybe the copying and lawsuit situation, who knows) however, I wanted to try a new board since I've been using the MX9000 over ten years now. I was looking at the mackie sr56-8. I'm a outboard gear guy, and this seems to have the channels to replace the two Behringers. Thing is I was told this was a live board, however this particular model can very much be used in studio recording.

So, I need your take on this. Has anyone used this board, and is it a better choice than the MX9000?

My budget for a used board with the channels I need is about $2,500 maybe 3G.

Thanks guys!

Also ** If you guys can touch on something for me. An engineer friend of mines hates Mackie, he says their EQ is garbage, and noisy. Can yall give me an opinion on this. I've never used a Mackie board before. **

Please guys, can someone say something. I have to make a decision by tomorrow on the Mackie.

For the most part, you've been using a Mackie 8-buss. The MX9000 was a direct rip off of the mackie design.

The SR has some cool features that the 900 doesn't, but the SR only has sweepable mids, there is no bandwidth control (Q). It's a usable board, but it really isn't a step up from the 9000, it's almost exactly the same.

For a step up, find a Soundcraft Ghost.

The Mackie's EQ doesn't have the third knob for the bandwidth, so you don't have as much control as you could. The mackie's are kind of crappy sounding compared to a lot of other boards. But to get much better, you have to spend a lot of money.

For the most part, you've been using a Mackie 8-buss. The MX9000 was a direct rip off of the mackie design.