Help with basic home recording drum mics to ZOOM R-12 setup

TonyCarbony

Hello everybody, I'm new to the forum and hoping to get some pointers to make my setup work. I have dabbled in home recording before so am technically not a newbie. That said, it's been awhile and I am a drummer after all; all this pluggy in technical stuff is confusing to me! My setup so far is very rudimentary and intended to be used a sort of sketchbook just for fun. I realise drum miccing is a vast subject, but I believe I have the basic idea down, I could just do with some technical pointers as to the additional equipment I may need.

Equipment I have so far;

• Zoom R-12 8 track recorder

• AKG Session 1 drum microphones (4x dynamic tom/snare, 1 x dynamic bass drum and 2 x overhead condensers)

As far as I understand, I am going to need a mixer of some spec to connect all the mics to, which will then connect to my recorder. Will any mixer unit that has enough mic inputs and some phantom power for the condensers work in this setup? If so, what is a good entry level brand?

Also, does anybody have experience with the Zoom units? I wanted to just play around with the AKG condenser mics so plugged one directly into the R-12 recorder, assigned it to the correct track, switched on the Zoom's inbuilt 48v phantom power and raised the fader but cannot get any input sound from the mic at all. Of course the microphone could be broken, but I have been very careful to not damage it by connecting while power is on, or with the faders up etc. Could it be that the Zoom device does not have the "oomph"to power the condensers? I guess it should if it is actually producing 48v. Or could it be a cable issue; I am using 3 pin XLR (mic end) to 6.35mm Jack connection (into the Zoom)? Is 3 pin XLR to 3 pin XLR required or does it not matter?

Apologies for all the questions, and thanks in advance to anyone who can shed some light for me!

Thanks for reading,
Tony

Hey there @TonyCarbony, & welcome!