Hands-free microphone for on-road use

micenaky

Hi, I'm a writer who uses a microphone while commuting to record the words I need to set down and transcribe later. I have a Sony ICD-AX412 recorder, which produces great quality voice recordings, even over the road noise, but it doesn't do so well when it's situated on the dashboard or in my shirt pocket, which are my only options other than holding the thing. So unless I can get a funky neckband or something which holds the recorder pointing at my mouth, I really think I need to buy an over-the-ear microphone, probably one that plugs into the Sony recorder for storage. But I don't want a pair of headphones to go with it; my ears need to stay uncovered so I can hear people honking at me.

I'm also an amateur voice actor, so I do care about the quality of the recording on principle, even if it's only used to specify which words to transcribe. I want it to sound good when played back, even over the road noise.

Options on Amazon and such seem limited. I guess it's a given that it will be mono, though. What do you guys recommend? Or can you think of some kind of holder/jib apparatus that will allow me to suspend the existing Sony recorder in midair or attached to my body in such a way that it'll be within half a foot of my mouth and point in the right direction?

Thanks, I'll look into this. Would something like the ATR-3350 also work with this recorder (ICD-AX412)? I've tried looking this up but can't seem to get any hits on people using them together.

Also, will lav mics generally will sound worse than the default recording quality of the ICD-AX412?

Your recorder has a socket for microphone input, so I would suggest looking at a headworn microphone.
Search Amazon for Headworn Microphone... Pyle makes some very inexpensive models with either a single earloop or two earloops, and they have surprisingly good sound for vocals.