Great headphones for pure listening enjoyment?

jeffree

I haven't seen this exact question posed during the last couple of years, so let me give it a shot. I'm using Senn 280s in my home studio, but I'd like to buy another set of cans for late-night listening/relaxing. Forget tracking and isolation, forget editing and rough mixing... instead, just consider pure listening enjoyment in mostly the jazz-fusion and rock realms. Deep bass, smooth mids, clear highs, maybe even a touch of the dreaded smiley curve. Which open or semi-open cans ($100-$300) would be on your short list? Grado, Senn, Beyer, AKG, something else?

I'll probably order 2-3 models and choose my favorite, but can you help me shorten the shipment list? I have little experience with such phones.

Thanks for any suggestions,

J.

I'm enjoying myself reading the some threads here and listening to "Yes" thru a broken in pair of SENN HD600's (plugged into a DAC-1). Everything sounds full range and all the elements of the music are working together and the mixes sound very cohesive. There's lots of detail in these things but I don't find myself thinking "ouch that 4KHz sure is sticking out", things are smooth and natural sounding (for phones, hehe). The bass isn't as low as what I can "sense" in my newer Beyer DT880's but those things aren't broken in yet and only have about 20-30 hours on them. I use the DT880 (open) and DT770 (closed) for details in mixes and restoration work I do at home. I don't listen to music in those cans to relax since I hear every mistake in mixes and balance pretty easily. Maybe the DT880's will self-balance a little better after a while - they're pretty hairy in the hi-mids right now, the DT770s seem bumped up in the lo-mids and they're broken in - the folks at some of the headphones forums say about 100 hours or so to break in...

Long story short - HD600 to relax with folk/rock/blues pop type music. :)

Yo Kylen cousin of "Joral.":}