EQ Specifics

tbowen

Ok I would like some expert to fill me in on the eq specifics like as in: What frequinces to boost for what sound. Like I heard if you boost the 80k range you get more bass sound. And so on. If there is a pic ro anything anywhere that gives it to you in every frequinceeee that would e great. Or does it just start at 1k and that is highs and then it goes down? Please help me out I am very new to eq's.
-thomas

TBOWEN:

I'll try to keep it simple because I'm not an expert; I have been running a home studio for ten years but it's a long learning curve due to the ugly manuals that come with black boxes.

First: I have a Yamaha MD-8 and it has three band EQ. I find that by tweaking the mid-range EQ a tad, I can bring some clarity and brilliance into female vocalists.

Once in a while I boost the low end EQ on my bass track for a more gutsy thump. This, of course, is determined by my ears.

Second: For the most part, leave the EQ in the up/down even position for most recordings. You can, however, make the drums/cymbals zing a bit by upping the high end EQ JUST A TAD.

Finally, spend a couple of hours working with the EQ on a vocal, on bass, on drums, but don't over-use the EQ.

Green Hornet

tbowen ,

im no expert .. but i offer a lil help...