Drum replacement ....its stupid!

Hmm, I am far from an expert but I disagree. The kick and snare may have a little help but during the break down I can hear sympathetic ring from the toms and the tom fills sound like real toms that were played by a drummer and not gridded up...or whatever its called.

Listen again with head phones and please tell me I could be right...please!!

Last edited:
I just listened to a few of the songs, Figure it Out is pretty obviously samples. Some of the other tunes were harder to tell, especially since they did some percussion overdubbing.

I was replying to this ....sorry!!

I was replying to this ....sorry!!

This interview is interesting (they said there are no overdubs except percussion, "it's the same as live"), but also said they had trouble getting a full enough sound for the album. Seems to indicate that they didnt use samples, certainly the wikipedia page for the album has gone on and used this as a source for that conclusion (not sure it's specific enough to rule out samples personally). I guess the issue would be compunded if most bands they had to 'compete' with in the charts are using sample replacement for drums and lots of guitar overdubs (which they are).

I guess the caveat is wether they trigger samples from the kit live.

Royal Blood on debut album: "it nearly killed us" | music news | triple j

This interview is interesting (they said there are no overdubs except percussion, "it's the same as live"), but also said they had trouble getting a full enough sound for the album. Seems to indicate that they didnt use samples, certainly the wikipedia page for the album has gone on and used this as a source for that conclusion (not sure it's specific enough to rule out samples personally). I guess the issue would be compunded if most bands they had to 'compete' with in the charts are using sample replacement for drums and lots of guitar overdubs (which they are).