DIY subwoofer

Nick_Black

Mirthmaker
yeas this is kinda one of those questions where I have little knowledge of what Im talking about... ok here we go.

I would like to build a subwoofer, diy websites tell me that closed/air tight enclosures are best, but how come most of the subwoofer enclosures you see have a sound hole?

and also, is there a way to "tune" a subwoofer? or is that best done via the software? (this subwoofer will be hooked up to my recording pc)

any sugestions/links will be greatly apreciated

The sound hole (port) is to allow air displacement from within the enclosure. The back side of a speaker moves air too.

thanks for the reply.

what kind of dimentions should the subwoofer box be then, becouse I don't want the "blow hole (I think that's what it's called) to phaze out some of the frequencies, and raise others... or is that how you would tune a subwoofer, by calculating what freq. you need, and boosting those parts?

Check out partsexpress.com. I got a lot of good info in the forums over there when I built my speakers.

Do you want to build an active subwoofer or a Passive one that will be powered by a external amp??

If doing the active route you will probably have to build some sort of Electronic crossover to limit the frequencies going to the Subwoofer from say 20hz to 400hz, A Salen Key Filter should be good for this Pluss electronicly they are easy to build:

You can use the "Filter Pro" software by TI to design your Filter....

http://focus.ti.com/lit/an/sbfa001a/sbfa001a.pdf

http://www.ecircuitcenter.com/Circuits/opsalkey1/opsalkey1.htm

For powering the Subwoofer Class D amps are popular but they have a pretty high distortion rate (10% THD) and are 1 Bit digital amps which makes they harder to build and they usually use a SMPS which isn"t very appealing when dealing with pro audio......