Digital catching up to Analog?

Rabid Pickle

So I went to school in Hollywood for audio engineering and heard from basically every instructor there how Analog is always better and blah blah. The elitism made me want to puke. In some ways analog certainly sounds better. I'm not for all digital or all analog, but it seems like digital is catching up. Digital is certainly more convenient and seems like its always getting better and better. But I'm no expert.
What do you think? Will digital sound just as good and/or better than analog someday?

Will digital sound just as good and/or better than analog someday?

Yes.

Post-secondary instructors crack me up. They need more shit to do. Or maybe they need to be required to actually work in the field a few months out of the year... or something. I once had a programming teacher who wouldn't let us use C's rand() function because "it wasn't random enough". Well.. guess what - commercial programming houses all use rand(), and commercial studios all use digital recording technology. Same old story...you nailed it with "elitism". That's academia for you, brother :D.

I'll happily trade them my cassette 4 track with its superior sound for their computer. Do you know how to contact these people? :D