Connecting/chaining FW & USB devices

Mo-Kay

Dragon Soul Productions
Hi,

recently, I've been having some new stuff and changed to my setup, and I'm a little bit confused as far as connecting everything goes.

my stuff I need to connect:

-Macbook Pro 2.2 ghz gbb ram 120 gb HDD
; 2X USB 2.0, 1X FW400, 1XFW800, 1X ExpressCard slot

-M-Audio Projectmix I/O audio interface/controller FW400

- Focusrite Liquidmix DSP processor
FW400

-Lacie 500 GB external FW audio drive
FW400/800

-M-audio AXIOM 25 USB keyboard controlle
r USB 1.1

- EMAGIC AMT8 MIDI interface
USB 1.1

-an USB cardreader (for transferring samples to my CF cards for my Akai MPC2000 sampler)

-my Protools Ilok USB dongle

I would like to ask the computer cracks/dataflow/chaining experts (LOL) here:

what would be the best way to connect all this stuff, possibly daisy chaining (how would I do that?), using USB /FW hubs, whatever...

I'm no newbie to audio, no newbie to computers, but this data bandwidth and stuff puzzles me sometimes, so I wanna do this right and not run into all kinds of trouble, since this IS the 1st time I'm dealing with FW devices...

Thnx a ton in advance!

Mo-Kay.

Forget about using the LiquidMix on the same FW buss as the HD you're trying to get audio off. Didn't work for me with anything above about 3-4 instances of the plugin :(

I'm probably going to sell mine as a result...

Looks like you need a powered USB hub for those devices, since you have more USB peripherals than USB ports.

The HD would go on the FW800 port, but then you are a little bit screwed on the FW400 port.

You might want to see if it works to chain the Project mix off the HD on the FW 800 port. That means the port will function at 400, but it might be possible. That way the Liquid Mix would have the other port to itself.

Or go the FW express card slot route and have a different FW port for each of those devices.