Compressing audio

Tifstorey

Guinea Pig
Hi all,

I've never properly understood how compressors work 100% and am wanting to read up on the theory aspect of how they work. I've had a look on Google but i can't seem to find any information :confused:

Can anyone help me out?

Tif

No offense, but........are you serious?????????:confused::eek:

I was completely serious aye. When i searched 'compression' i got results back for all sorts of compression. 'Audio compression' didn't come up with any informative pages. I tried a few more then gave up and thought i'd come on here and get a quick answer :p

I apologise for not understanding the principles of how Google works and the correct word structures you must use to get the best results, if you'd like to share your wisdom, please get intouch via PM. :)

Well, to be fair, I have no idea how a compressor works, by which I mean, I have no knowledge of the physical principles used to make loud stuff quieter, as contrasted with the way I do, in fact, understand how a speaker or moving coil microphone works (hint, they're the same).

Asking what the knobs do, OTOH, is n00bish.

Nah, I'm sure you'll figure it out one day, if you apply yourself. :rolleyes:

Perhaps you, as a Google genius, can work out the near-impossible task.

Search for 2 words within Google to get only 1 answer. If you can find the answer, i will look upon you as a god.

Cheers for the added link Chili, much appreciated :) If anyone has anymore gems they know of about Compression, feel free to add them.

While your passive-aggressive sarcasm is laughable at most, it's misplaced at best. I appreciate the compliment on my being a genius, but I'm much too humble to accept that title. I used to think anyone who could add 2+2 was also a "genius" when I was in Kingergarten, only to realise later that, with a little effort, and not depending on others to do my work for me, I too can do basic math.