Comments PLEASE!

smellyfuzz

I said a lot more than no and I hope it's something you consider

On Dec 10, 2009, at 8:08 PM, Smellyfuzz wrote:

Yes but, i did get your attention and all you are doing is saying no.

Thanks
----- Original Message -----
To: Smellyfuzz
Sent: Thursday, December 10, 2009 7:39 PM
Subject: Re: Re:

Sean, I hope you take this in the spirit in which it's offered.
You should know I've been engineering for over 24 years, if you go to my website you'll get an idea of some of the records I've worked on.
I have a record now that I produced and recorded and mixed, that was mastered by Scott Hull from Masterdisk, that is currently on the contemporary jazz charts. You might want to check out his website and see his discography.
If I have a say in the matter, for my clients I recommend Scott , if they can afford him, if they can't I recommend Randy Merrill who was Scott's apprentice
I have to question whether you could improve the sound of my mixes, first off, you don't have professional mastering software, you have no analog processors to speak of, no mastering console, which tells me your approach would not be right for what comes out here. Not to mention that if you did I wouldn't want the ad/da to be an MAudio card. I see that you have a nice monitoring, that's great and the beginning of the chain. But it seems to me you have a way's to go on the gear end.

Also something else you should think about, presentation in this business is EVERYTHING, it's a little odd to get an email from someone you don't know
with the email handle SmellyFuzz saying he would like to improve the sound of my music. You might want to use your SPM mastering name as your handle to make a more serious presentation, you might want to describe your services. You also should research the facilities that you send to, you're probably looking for a more entry level studio to start.