Comments on new system before I $$$

woodshedder

Greetings all-
I am getting ready to purchase a new system but need some help. I have done loads of research, but I have never built or set-up a computer before. Please let me know if there is anything that I need that I do not have on this list. Also, I am confused about what type of video card I will need. I will be using N-Tracks and M-Audio's Omni Studio.

 Intel Pentium4 1.8A GHz 512K Socket 478 Processor 400MHz Processor

 Asus Motherboard for Intel Pentium 4 Processors, Model P4XP-X

 Samsumg 80GB 7200RPM Hard Drive Model# SP0802N

 Zalman CNPS7000-Cu Pure Copper CPU Cooler for AMD XP Socket 462 & 754 and Intel Socket 478..

 Zalmon ZM300A-APF Power Supply Unit

 Evercase ECE4252 Case

 I need a generic floppy drive, I guess.

 Lite On 52x24x52 CDRW Model LTR-52246S

 CORSAIR 512MB PC2100 VALUE SELECT. DDR RAM

Once again, thanks for helping me out. I'm really nervous I'm gonna foul something up building this thing!!

Jeff

Add a second hard drive for your tracking software and songs.

Max out the RAM, if your mother board can take 2Gig, fill er' up!

One other thing I wish I had done - I bought a Dell, and while it's a great computer, I wish I had looked into companies like Carillion who build up recording PCs with noise suppression in mind.

Recording an acoustic guitar and picking up the computers cooling fan in the background is mucho annoying!

Thanks Phyl-

This one is designed with noise suppresion in mind. Most of the parts were chosen from reviews and tests from places like Quiet PC Review for their ability to run quietly and cooly.

I will be doing mainly acoustic instruments and vocals (bluegrass, americana type stuff) so I don't want the noise coming through.

Jeff

woodshedder said:
Greetings all-