cheapish bass

thanks for the replies. The only thing why I'm not too sure about buying used is that because I haven't ever even had a bass lesson and I am an electric guitarist. I'm worried that if I buy used then if there is a tiny problem I won't really understand how to fix it, I mean it's unlikely I know but if it's knew then i know that it is in top condition

Actually, no you don't. In the very cheap price range, instruments are very likely to be shipped brand new with major flaws. I would go to a big guitar store with a good bass player. When you find one that feels good to you, and the bass player says he can't find anything wrong with it, and it's in your price range, you're there. I'm also not a bass player, but I needed a cheapie for the studio to test some bass recording signal chains, and just to mess around with. I wound up with a Squier P-bass that works fine for me, but my needs are very limited. Interestingly, I have never played a Squier guitar that didn't suck, but I never have found anything wrong with this bass. Maybe I just got lucky. I bought it for $112 new.

"I've heard a lot of tunes in the clinic over the years where the bass sounded horrible even though the poster had some high dollar instrument with a nice DI box. Conversely, a lot of the best sounding bass tracks were revealed to be squires or other cheapish models."

It sure does help, to be able to play.:thumbs up:

It also helps to have a good signal chain. It really helps that I can plug my $118 Squier P-bass into the Avalon.

The only thing why I'm not too sure about buying used is that because I haven't ever even had a bass lesson and I am an electric guitarist. I'm worried that if I buy used then if there is a tiny problem I won't really understand how to fix it,

Aw come on, a bass is just a guitar with thick strings.