Can you put any brand of tubes into any Tube head?

dumass

hey, i was wondering if i could put Mesa EL34's into my Carvin MTS3200, switching the bias to EL34...

does anyone have experience with this? does it really make the amp that much better?

all of the reviews on the MTS that i have read have said that EL34's sound a lot better than the 5881's. or, does anyone know of any other brand of tubes that will make my amp sound better than with Mesa tubes?

i was planning on buying the tubes from the Mesa website, so i would have to order 2 sets of duets? (the mts takes 4 power tubes)

sorry for the dum questions, i'm very new to tube amps...

They're not dumb questions. Only way to learn. :)

If the amp will work with EL34s by simply rebiasing it........then
the EL34s should have a bit warmer sound......they'll breakup a little bit earlier than the 5881s. They won't be as clean....whether this is 'better' depends on what you want.
I would check with Mesa and make sure that this is ok........if it's not, then you could damage the amp. But quite a few amps can use different types of tube with rebiasing and my old Ampegs can use almost anything without rebiasing. So check with Mesa and if it's ok....go for it!

As for brands.......well, there are a lot of brands so you need help from people who listen to a lot of tubes. Try:
http://www.thetubestore.com/

Last thing.........let the tubes cool a bit before moving the amp. You know how a light bulb will go out if you thump it while it's hot? Same thing with tubes. When I do a gig, the first thing I do at the end of the night is turn my amp off so it can cool while I wrap cords and such.

I'm not sure about any other mods needed. I know that one of the tubes I can't just drop in my Ampegs is an EL34 so be sure to check with Carvin.
Or maybe someone will be along that knows for sure.

Good advice from everyone.