Can I use 2 Tascam 16x08 to record 10 Channels Simultaneously?

goochusmaximus

Hello im new to recording (i have some experience doing simple things like 1 vocal + 1 Acoustic Guitar) and im not sure how to go about recording my band live (we are a Trio). I used Cubase LE 8.5, i was wondering if i could hook up 2 Tascam 16x08 to be able to record 10 Channels simultaneously. 7 will be with drum mics 2 will be for guitar and 1 for bass. If not could you help point me in a direction to be able to record 10 channels at the same time?

No, whilst it IS possible to run multiple USB AIs (done it, lost the hair) they will not be in sync and you will have dire mixdown issues!

I hope you have not bought the two Tascams yet? (if so there is a kludge) What you need is either a pre amp with the two extra mic channels or, even more flexible IMHO a mixer, but one with channel "Inserts", better would be "Direct Outs" but they are usually only found on expensive units.

The mixer can feed the line inputs on the AI. You will need some special TRS to TS jack to jack cables to go from insert to line in* . In fact many bands already own a mixer if only to handle vocal PA?

I will say, and so will others, setting up and running a multi-mic/multitrack recording is quite a task and you will need a fairly large room and for quite a long time! You might be better to use the money to get a professional studio to do the work? Also, if you still have a 2 track recording facility Google "Co-I stereo recording" Such a rig set up in a decent room can give good results IF you are a good, well balanced group.

*Hobby horse a'trottin'! Save time and money by learning to solder and some very basic electrical skills.

Dave.