Can anyone identify whats causing this crackling sound?

cj1

Im very new to recording and use a Line 6 GX interface and Nuendo 4. if you listen to the click below you can here a crackling break up of sound near the start of the recording. If i try to record guitar it normally does this atleast once a minute and its seriously annoying me. Iv been told it could be my cables or it could be my interface? Can anyone help me! View attachment Sample.mp3

[MP3]http://www.fileden.com/files/2007/9/16/1435960//Sample.mp3
[/MP3]

To save you downloading ^ Please Help!!!

right so Ive listened to it and it sounds like its a buffer problem...thing is, and Im not judging or accusing, but you say you are using a £70 interface with £1500 software designed for post audio production? Im not saying its pirated but why use something so complicated with something so simple??

Id suggest using the GX with Reaper...its stable and simple and if you are going to record guitar based stuff its got to be more user friendly..

make sure you are using Line 6 Asio drivers as your soundcard drivers in the softwares preferences (not asio4all drivers), then adjust the buffer/latency until you get a happy medium between acceptable delay and recording quality

it doesnt sound like cables to me...also what are you playing the guitar into software wise? I thought the GX doesnt come with podfarm as a VST??

Well, it could be a "Student's" version but you've been right in the past.
Hey CJ: Increase your buffers and switch everything off that doesn't need to be running.
A better interface wouldn't hurt either.
Is that "Briggend"?

Im not saying its pirated, dont really care tbh, its just when I hear the guitar playing and know that its a GX being used I cant think of a more opposite DAW. Unless your being forced to use it or cant sell it on theres no way Id use Nuendo as a n00b starting out, it would do my fricken brain in lol :)