Cakewalk Vocal Tips?

JPlush76

I have sonar 1.0

I'd like to put alot of focus on getting a good vocal sound

I bought a nady 1050 vaccum tube condenser mic and preamp

what I'm wondering is what kind of general rule of thumb is there for the effects or eq you typically add to vocals to warm and brighten?

thanks all!

yea yea yea

I'm not talking about performance, I'm just talking about what do with it when its recorded

it records fine but needs some verb and compression

now why didn't I think of that?

I'm asking about general rules of thumb...

use some compression while recording? do it all after? how much compression for vocals? what types of reverb generall work well?

I'm a novice like I said, so I'm just looking for some starting guidelines.

Sorry, couldn't help myself.

Mixing, like cooking, is an art. It's like adding seasoning to taste. There really is no set of rules, or any one way of doing it. It all depends on the song and the way you think it should sound. Just play around with the effects until you think it sounds good. It takes a while to learn how to use effects properly. Especially compression. The best way is to just try different things untill it sounds good.

yea compression is the thing that seems to be a big factor

I've been doing some reading on it today

last night I was just haphazardly playing around with settings but I really had no clue what or why I was changing things.

JPlush76 said:

....last night I was just haphazardly playing around with settings but I really had no clue what or why I was changing things.

Yah! Here here!

Join the club, dude.

Seems like I bought a grain harvester combine to mow the back yard.

Neo

I've been getting really good results using the FRM Audio RNC1773 compressor ($175.00). I go out of my mixer, into the compressor, then into the computer. I set it at:

Threshold: +5
Ratio: 6:1
Attack: 6:0
Release: 0:5
Gain:0 (unity)