Best SD cardioid condenser, overall

Best SD cardioid condenser, overall.

• MC 012

Votes: 13 44.8%
  • AT 4041

Votes: 3 10.3%
  • Neither (specify in post below your preferred mic)

Votes: 13 44.8%

• Total voters

geekgurl

Hi folks. After much research I've decided that I need a pair of small-diaphragm cardioid condensers. I don't know very much about these, but I'd like a pair that I can use to record upright piano and overhead drums primarily, and the music style is jazzy/rock/pop ... I don't need dirty or grungy, but clean and well-balanced preferred. Please lend me your thoughts on which of these is the better mic for such applications:

1. MC012

2. AT 4041

3. neither (specify preferred mic)

I don't think you could go wrong with a pair of Marshall MXL603s.

They're pretty wide cardiod, though...

Marshall MXL-603S

"A flat-out winner." - Harvey Gerst

"These look cool." - Chessrock

"It was better than Streetcar Named Desire." - Roger Ebert

Not being a pro, I went with Harvey's recommendation and bought an MXL 603s--quite a bargain for $79, and I haven't been dissapointed. In addition the omni Behringer ECM 8000 can be had for $35-$40 each. I got one of those also and combine it with the 603s on acoustic guitar. Very nice.

Haven' heard the 4041.

AT 4041

I bought a pair of these from 8thstreet.com in October of 2000, and they work wonderfully for me. I have gotten the best results miking my acoustic with one 4041 and a rode nt2. If you want to hear an example:

example: 1
http://www.cdbaby.com/darlingd.html
track: something's wrong

example: 2
track: mistake

The acoustic was recorded with a rode nt2 and an audio technica 4041. The vocals were done with the nt2. everything else was direct.

Hope you enjoy, and I hope this post helped.

daniel
www.swsmusic.net

Last edited: