Best Mic(s) for an acoustic

Acousti-Playa

Hey everyone, im a newbie to this board, but glad to be here. I was wondering what some suggestions would be for either 1 or 2 condensers for around $400 that would be good for recording some acoustic guitar, mostly strumming, some finger picking. Thanks

Cardiod should do it. Maybe hypercardiod, but only if you think you'll be tracking other things at the same time in close proximity (like if you want to sing and play at the same time, etc.). Definitely get the -10 db pad.

I've had really good luck lately with a pair of 603's (1 at the 12th fret and 1 at the treble side of the bridge ) and an SP B3 about 2 feet away. That seems to capture a really sound for both strumming and finger picking. That setup would run you right around your budget, and would be extremely versatile.

I have an AT 3035. Record mostly all acoustic guitars and vox with it. It is simply AMAZING! 179.00, worth every penny.

In the price range you have, either the 012's (cardiod caps) or the 603's. I have to say I have no personal experience with the 603's but folks with ears i trust think they're very simular to the Octavas (which I have a lot of experience).

Do a search, recently someone posted a link to a place that is selling matched pairs of 603s with shock mounts and an alum case for $176. Thats the route I'd go unless I had at least $400. Then I'd definitely consider the multipattern Oktavas or a pair of AT 4041s.

Sorry if I am hijacking this thread, but why does no one ever suggest the use of two matching (or not matching for that matter) ld condensers for miking an acoustic guitar?

mkeene said:
Sorry if I am hijacking this thread, but why does no one ever suggest the use of two matching (or not matching for that matter) ld condensers for miking an acoustic guitar?