Behringer Mic Pre-Amp

jlmedia

hey ive just got the behringer ultragain valve mic pre-amp and i know its valve and its bound to have signal buzzings but it was stated not to but whats the point in me having it if i carn't even go high enough to pre-amp it up on warmth,
A friend to me to get a gate or something for it to sort out any background noise,
Any extra's you think i should get please tell me and i am pritty new and limited at the moment,
I have
A set fo edirol ma-15d monitors
a m-audio oxygen 8 v2 midi keyboard
a behringer ultragain valve mic pre-amp
a alesis multimix 6fx mixer
a audio technica AT3035 condensor microphone
a metal pop filter
a rode psa1 studio boom arm
adobe audition, ableton live 6.0.1 [had no expeirence] and im on the verge of looking for more

Any tips And i'd apreciat it!!
And i've just got a load more chunks of cash from christmas and jobs so i can buy somethings.. and i am a voice over artist/producer if your wondering what i want it for,

Thanks !!

a gate will only kill the background noise generated by the cheap behringer pre during passages with no mic signal, when the unit is passing signalk the background noise will be heard in the track. That's what behringer does...everything cheaply, and badly.

hey ive just got the behringer ultragain valve mic pre-amp and i know its valve and its bound to have signal buzzings but it was stated not to but whats the point in me having it if i carn't even go high enough to pre-amp it up on warmth,
A friend to me to get a gate or something for it to sort out any background noise,

First things first: replace the valves/tubes in your Behringer because the stock tubes are crap. I'd recommend a matched pair of Tung Sol 12AX7's (they may be Russian-made, but the pairs my friends have all work great and I will get a pair myself). If you're going to get some tubes with lower gain factor, get a matched pair of JAN Phillips 5751's. Replacing the tubes will boost performance.