Behringer ADA8000 vs. Yamaha MG Mixer

goldie

I am setting up a home studio with Protools Digi 001. I want to add 8 preamps to be able to record drums (I'm a drummer). I was first going to go with the Behringer ADA8000 but saw the Yamaha MG mixer would be better quality.

Please let me know which one I should go with or if I should look at something else. My buget is in the 200-300 range.

I have another post here with the rest of my possible setup: https://homerecording.com/bbs/showthread.php?t=144238

The yamaha would be the way to go, I hear the berry isnt that bad but go for the MG if its in your price range.

I have the ADA8000 and love it. The pres are very nice for the price. I use it with my Yamaha AW4416 to take it to 16 tracks simultaneous recording.

The only draw w/ the ADA8000 is the pres get a little noise above 80%.

I don't have an MG mixer, but I bet the pres are very comparable. You're not getting a mixer w/ the ADA8000 like you are w/ the MG, but probably more pres for the money. Also the pres are "IMP" (invisible mic pre), they're not neve good, but for what most of us are looking for, it's good...

Like I said, I like it a lot, and would buy it again if it was stolen.

:D
GABritton said:
I don't have an MG mixer, but I bet the pres are very comparable. You're not getting a mixer w/ the ADA8000 like you are w/ the MG, but probably more pres for the money. Also the pres are "IMP" (invisible mic pre), they're not neve good, but for what most of us are looking for, it's good...

Like I said, I like it a lot, and would buy it again if it was stolen.

I wont go there! :rolleyes: :D Like I said ive heard that they arent too bad but the yamaha pre's ARE better...

Carter said:
:D I wont go there! :rolleyes: :D Like I said ive heard that they arent too bad but the yamaha pre's ARE better...
And I'VE heard that the ADA8000 is better! So nyah nyah nyah nah nyah nyah!