Beginner Recording Setup?

amphlett7

Hey guys, I'm new to these forums and I'm seeking out a bit of help.

Over the past year I've been looking into studio and live audio engineering as a career, and I visited a local place in my city that focuses on stuff like this, and it's where I plan to study at when I finish school.

But before I go to that place I want to gain some experience in recording.

I want to get a small (but good) recording setup, The most likely situation would be using a PC with a USB mixer, but I'm not that experienced with gear, and I need advice on a few things.

1) What do I need for a simple recording setup.
2) Where can I find some guides to recording.
3) whats the best value setup.

I know this question has probably been asked before but I thought I'd be more comfortable just asking.

My price range is maximum AU$700, I'm a high school student, and cant afford that much, but I'm sure that there's something good available for me.

Thanks,

Josh

Hi,

Find an interface you can afford. Remember the more I/O the more things you can record at the same time.

You will need a means to monitor your mixing. One inexpensive way is a pair of headphones. As you grow you could later invest in a pair of monitors and still use your headphones for tracking.

I would start off by just recording a guitar and vocals. Using the search on this site will do you wonders.

1) What type of music are you planning on starting to record?
2) What do you have for equipment now (ie. compuer, mics, etc.)
3) Have you done a search in this section of the forum? The same question has been asked more than a couple of times.
Read all the articles on this website, look at all the forum post, do some reading elsewhere, too.