Bassists I need some help

Toki987

Rock Steady
friggin strings.....
I used nothing but Rotosound through the 70`s with the exception of a few packs of GHS Boomers. Something happened in the 80`s to the Rotosounds, probably due to cost cutting techniques, that made them lose their harmonics faster and die faster, even with cleaning. I tried D'Ads, DR's, Cryo`s, Earth's, Ernie Balls, and a couple others through the 90`s up to and after I started playing a V string regularly. Nothing lasted long at all until I tried some Ken Smith`s. They had done pretty well but latley I have been playing very regularly live lately (every weekend with an ocassional off week after about 5, and these aren`t lasting very long at all before going as dead as a clay pot. It seems the metal composite just sucks these days. I like to get about 3 months at least from a set and them keep their harmonics resonance up to snuff before they start to clam up. I clean my hands before I play and wipe my strings after each gig before it goes in the case. I don`t have a "sweat salts" problem.
What are you guys using and what kind of mileage are you getting out of them?
Thanks,
Ken

Hi kenny ....How goes man?

I can't realy help....just wanted to say "hi" man....the strings on my 4 year old bass....well...they were on the bass when I bought it..... :rolleyes:

still sounds ok to me......then again...all I use it for is recording.....gotta love compression.... :D

joro said:
Hi keeny ....How goes man?

I can't realy help....just wanted to say "hi" man....the strings on my 4 year old bass....well...they were on the bass when I bought it..... :rolleyes:

still sounds ok to me......then again...all I use it for is recording.....gotta love compression.... :D

I'm going good Joro, love ya man.
4 yrs is good, my kinda good :)

but 4 hrs a night in smoky, cheap perfume, humidity filled club 2 nights a week it would be different. :eek:

Toki987 said:
I'm going good Joro, love ya man.