Anything Else?

VMattyV

I should be ordering my stuff tonight, and I don't want it to come and I can't record because im missing a cable or something. This is the Equip im getting:

Echo Mia MIDI PC Digital Audio Interface (New) $129.95 $129.95 In stock

ART Tube MP Microphone Preamp (Model 127) (New) $39.95 $39.95

Shure SM57 Cardioid Dynamic Microphone (New, SM57 LC, Without Cable) $89.95 $89.95

Will ship next day
Line6 GuitarPort Guitar/Computer Interface (Windows) (New) $99.95 $99.95

SignalFlex MIDI Cable (New, 6 Foot) $4.49 $4.49

What am I gonna need to connect the mic to the soundcard? Does it come with the soundcard?

you should have what you need, you'll need an XLR cable to run from your (condenser?) mic to your Preamp than either an instrument cable or another XLR to run from your pre to your interface.

i'm no pro like some of these guys in here but why not use the Gina's pres instead of a tube mp? they will probably be much better than the tube mp.

ECHO MIA?
Son, what age are you living in?

Those are a thing of the past, there are BETTER cards out there for the price.
The pre-amp is VERY low end, and to be honest, it blows donkey cock.
Where are your mons?
The lineport interface is low end as well.
Why not invest into something like.. a Motu Ultralite, E-Mu 1820M, Focusrite Saffire?

Bah, I have a low budget and I just want to make some home recordings. I'm not as serious as you guys on this stuff. I think this stuff will do it for me. If it doesn't then Ill just upgrade. I might take your advice on the preamp though. You say theres good preamps on the soundcard? I'd be glad to take $40 off the total cost. What kind of wire actually goes into the soundcard though? Its just gonna be Mic>Soundcard right?

Update: Aha! This is what im going to need:

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/General/Accessories/Cables?sku=335209

correct?

Last edited:
XLR--> Gina-->PC

From what I calculated you have approx. $364.29 to spend.