Any 2488 Users??

I was just wondering about your likes & dislikes of the recorder. I am just now really learning to use it as I am new to recording. I am taking a basic class at a local studio, Pogo studio in Champaign IL. I also ordered the DVD from Tascam & thay helped a lot.
I am setting up a rehersal - small project in a 4 car garage I have.
Dave Huffman

David-H -

I'm new at this also, and the 2488 is the first home studio device I've owned. I don't have anything to compare it to, but so far I find it very easy to track, mix down, master, and burn to CD, using the most basic functions.

IMHO, the weakest element of the 2488 is the lack of documentation. The User's Manual and Technical Reference are woefully inadequate and fail to address some of the 2488's most basic capabilities. For example, there is no mention of how to record the tone generator drum patterns to a stereo channel pair, and I'm not sure how one could figure it out without the expertise of someone who's had more time to fool around on the machine.

That said, I'm having a lot of fun with it!

rev 1.02

philboyd studge said:
Ditto here, since its early release.

Hey, anybody know of software upgrades about v 1.0?

yeah if you notice B and myself just finished upgrades. send me your address and i'll send it to you. 1.02....piece of cake to do.

Mr Rock gave us the Upgrade CD, but its all free and friendly...if you like I'll send it as soon as it shows up from Florida to Texas.

Where I live

Herm, I live Just nort of Urbana off of Leverett Rd. U??
I would go to the Tascam web site & order the 2488 DVD it's around 50 bucks but has LOT'S of good info on it!
Dave Huffman

Last edited: