Another Newbie Question (or 2)

substance

Ok, we're recording in a smaller sized room (18X18) with thick curtain and heavy carpet on walls/ceiling for sound treatment and I'm just wondering a couple things...

1.) Should I face the drums towards a corner or towards the center of the room?

2.) If we play the guitars live with the drums, will the drum mics pick up the guitar noise? If so, how do we record the drums without picking up the guitar?

i know these are stupid questions but like i said I'm a newbie...

substance said:
2.) If we play the guitars live with the drums, will the drum mics pick up the guitar noise? If so, how do we record the drums without picking up the guitar?

Yes, the drum mics will pick up the guitar sound (this is called bleed). If you're close micing the amp, you can minimize bleed by moving the amp into another room or a closet. Also, you'll want to use a dynamic for your amp in a situation like this to avoid drums bleeding onto the guitar track.

First,
-make a one track recording of everybody playing at the same time
-now everyone plays along with that track, and you record their "real" tracks
-drums first, bass second, whatever next
This is one way, I'm sure there are many others
Good Luck
In hIs Name
Big Kenny

Big Kenny said:
First,
-make a one track recording of everybody playing at the same time
-now everyone plays along with that track, and you record their "real" tracks
-drums first, bass second, whatever next
This is one way, I'm sure there are many others
Good Luck
In hIs Name
Big Kenny

I'm thinking it would be very difficult for some drummers to play along with a previous recording of themselves, just like it's hard for many of them to play along with click tracks.

Re: re

substance said:
cool. thats what we were thinking of doing..

what about facing the drums towards the corner?