AKG Perception 100/200

Dwnlow68

Hello all Newbie here first post
I'm putting together a small home studio and now at the point of getting mics (already know a million posts on this) I've seen just about every mic made posted I'm getting the work horse 57's/58's, D-112's (kick drum), C-1/C-3, and Rode's, but I was wondering if anyone has tried the AKG Perception 100/200's? salesperson at local music store was really trying to push them on me... just wanted/looking for opinions

thnx
Dwn

I bought the perception 100 about 10 days ago at GC... I passed on the extra cost of the 200 with the pad and high pass. It's the first chinese manufactured mic I've bought and figured with an akg badge "why not"? I do voice work mostly, and have and use an older rode nt1, sony c-48, and senn 421. On my voice the rode has always been forward sounding but "spitty" with a lot of sibilence and doesn't take eq well, the sony is smooth but too laid back, and the senn just doesn't have the clarity and definition, The Perception 100 sounds very smooth. I like the mid range and it works well with my voice (baritone). I use a symetrix 528e as a pre. I'm very pleased with it... moves the quality of my work up a notch. YMMV.

It's a pretty new mic and I haven't heard a lot of feedback on it. Anybody else?

Dave

This is always the way it is when a new low priced mic comes out, especially an inexpensive condenser mic. The big boys pretty much ignore it, because mostly, they don't use cheap condenser mics. The newbies ask the big boys what they think about the mic, but the big boys don't know, because they haven't heard it. So the pros recommend mics that have been around longer,with an established track record, because they are more confident that they are not recommending a bad product.