ADAT help!

16vMiniMike

Hi all, newbie here with some gear but obviously not as much of an idea as would like!

So, I run Ableton on a Windows PC, I have 4 Behringer ADA8000’s connected to an RME Digiface USB, and my output is via a Behringer UMC404HD. How do I get more than 2 channels into Ableton, the audio input option only allows be to choose ADAT1-2 or ADAT 5-6 etc for example.

Then, I can’t set a different audio interface for output, and ASIO4All doesn’t seem to be working either!

Maybe I just need an audio interface that has 4x ADAT inputs instead?

Thanks, any help appreciated :)

You're not using the RME driver? What about the TotalMix FX software (included with the driver)? Does that show the inputs?

You may know this, but the number of channels you see should be multiples of 8, depending on sample rate. 48kHz : 32, 96kHz : 16, 192kHz 8. I'd stick with 48kHz and maybe test each of the ADA8000s independently to confirm you can get at least 8 channels out of each of them, visible in the RME app. Here's a video that covers some of the app use with that device:

You're not using the RME driver? What about the TotalMix FX software (included with the driver)? Does that show the inputs?

You may know this, but the number of channels you see should be multiples of 8, depending on sample rate. 48kHz : 32, 96kHz : 16, 192kHz 8. I'd stick with 48kHz and maybe test each of the ADA8000s independently to confirm you can get at least 8 channels out of each of them, visible in the RME app. Here's a video that covers some of the app use with that device:

Thanks Kieth, yes I’m using the RME drivers, it’s just it seems Ableton can’t just take all 32 channels as the audio input. I’ll give that video a watch, see if that helps 👍😁

Are you running a 'lite' version of Ableton Mike? Some cut down DAWs have a track limit. If you just want to track 32 channels try Reaper?

Dave.