A List of Mics NOT Requiring Phantom Power

Shepherd Jim

I'm a newbie and getting into Field Recording slowly ...and carefully.

I bought a Sony PCM M10 as my first baby-step and would like to now add a shotgun mic ($ range $100 - $300) so I'll be able to avoid some of the greater world's ambiance.

The Sony M10 supplies something called "Plug In Power" but I'm not interested in buying a "Plug In Power Mic".

Does anyone have a list of "self-powered" mics? ...mics that do not require phantom power. For the time being I will need to buy adapters to convert XLR or 1/4" phone plugs to 3.5 mm to use mics with the Sony M10

If anyone just wants to send me the non-phantom-power-requiring mics they're aware of I will compile the list I'm seeking and then post it as a pdf to help people coming along later on.

Thanks! Jim

Usually, only condenser mics (LDC SDC, etc) have phantom power. Dynamic mics (like an SM57 or SM58) do not require. Shotgun mics are usually for video, and can come with their own adapters. Check, for example Vidpro XM88, and on the other end of the spectrum, Neumann KMR 82i. When you say "field recording" I assume you mean recording in the field...interviews, acting, whatever, where you cannot place the microphone in the view of the camera. Depending on budget, you can spend very little (XM88) or quite a lot (KMR82i). Good luck!

If anyone just wants to send me the non-phantom-power-requiring mics they're aware of I will compile the list I'm seeking and then post it as a pdf to help people coming along later on.

Hey Jim.
As said, it's pretty much dynamic mics (moving coil, ribbon etc) which don't require phantom power and condenser (capacitor) mics which do.

This is because of the way the microphones work. Moving element in a magnetic field / vs charged plates and capacitance.

Once in a while you'll see a dynamic that requires phantom power but it will be for another reason.
The signal will still be generated by a coil moving in a magnetic field.