7 string vs "baritone" 6 string

Guitarfreak585

Your thoughts. I played a 7 string this weekend and actually enjoyed it. And I've been looking to get another guitar to handle a lower tuning. Now I'm torn again lol.

I have never played either (seems to be my day to comment on things I have no experience on...) I do play, on occasion, a tenor guitar, so I guess I have something to say on this matter... maybe not, but I'm gonna say it, anyway.

Both (as well as a tenor guitar) are kinda niche instruments, and IMO which you would get would depend on how and what you play. 7-stringers seem to be for wild-n-crazy lead guitarist, whereas bari's are for, like you said, for lower tunings. Personally, I would love to be a part of a progressive, rock-influenced guitar ensemble that would include bass, bari, "normal," and tenor guitar, plus maybe mando and a steel-string uke or two (if such a thing even exists.) So, for me, I'd want the bari.

But that's just me. Talking about things I know nothing about. Or almost nothing. Just because my GF left me a couple months' ago and I got no one to talk about. Man, this sucks.

After talking with the band and things we came down to this. Either guitar i buy, will only add a few songs to our play list most likely. But, the 7 string might add more depth to our songs in standard tuning. So i think thats the way to go.

Plus, ill be able to play/learn Unearth material and i need that. Anything i can do to play more intricate stuff. Ive been stagnant for a long time.

I've owned a baritone 6 and currently own a 7 and have also owned an 8 string.

They are all night and day different. If you are super used to a standard scale 6 string, then a baritone might feel REALLY wierd. It's border line like playing a bass (I said like, not is haha).

Some things I noted: