Mastering without compression?

cfg

As a virtual novice, I've always been under the impression that compression/limiting was absolutely necessary during mastering, that it was the actual means for increasing audio levels from the mix, but I'm not sure this was ever the right way of looking at it. Am I correct that it's possible to use a mastering plugin to boost levels without actually invoking any compression/limiting? And if so, how common is it to do this, i.e., get the mix so right that all one had to do is boost levels during the mastering?

If it's compressed and limited in the mix, or is mostly heavily distorted guitars (which has a similar effect), perhaps you won't need to limit it to achieve a normal level.

Am I correct that it's possible to use a mastering plugin to boost levels without actually invoking any compression/limiting?
What 'mastering plugin' are you talking about? Chances are it has some limiter and/or compression built in.

I'm going to go into my "old man" speech:
Mastering is the act of making sure the audio matches the specs that the final product needs to have.

Back when people were making albums, part of mastering was making sure that all the content sounded like it belonged together, or at least flowed well. A desicion was made as to what the album could sound like and how loud it was going to be, then the mastering engineer would do whatever it took to make the entire album sound like that.

Either way, to answer your question, if it sounds the way you want it to and is loud enough for you, there is no need to add anything.
That's how most audio works, listen to what you have, imagine what would make it "better", use whatever tool you need to in order to achieve that "better". If it's as good as you want it, you are done.

I'm sure there are limits to it, but streaming services nowadays will automatically boost/limit your mixes to match the overall volume of the platform.