Video quality question (data rate)

Big Thier

Hi,

I am about to release my first official music video, and I have asked the editor for a few revisions. In the second version (file "Comp 5"), the debit is lower than on the first version (file "change of seasons revised_2"). The file sizes are also different (683mb VS 818mb).

He tells me that the quality is the same, and he doesn't know why the debit and file size are different.

Please advise, I'm a noob when it comes to video.

video.png

French is a bit tricky but is this data transmission rate? Something to do with the dropped frame maybe, but the two versions appear to be compressed differently, perhaps? Which software is this?

The difference in data rate is analogous to different MP3 data rates, 128KB vs 320KB. In this case its 5MB/sec vs 6MB/sec. Depending on the content, it may or may not be visible.

The difference in data rate is analogous to different MP3 data rates, 128KB vs 320KB. In this case its 5MB/sec vs 6MB/sec. Depending on the content, it may or may not be visible.
So that is a setting option you must choose before exporting, right? The footage used in the video was recorded in 4K. The export is supposed to be 4K too.

The compression rate would be a setting in the software. The 4K resolution is there, since it shows 3840x2160 for the pixel count. That's 4K. The frame rate is also the same at 23.98. That means that it's simply a matter of how much compression is being done on each frame.