Teac A3340S issues

Martin d18

I have a problem with the control buttons on my Teac A3340S. How do I get to the buttons to see what's going on. The meters light up but the solenoid will not operate to start the replay function. Who has the answer?

Laced up properly?if laced up properly means threaded correctly from reel to reel then yes. It’s like the unit is not getting power but it is. I’ve had one of these for years but have never been inside one until now. I bought this one used and I’m trying to refurbish it. The motor is turning and the driver motor is running but it won’t engage. The solenoid is not activating. Does it have a power source separate from the motors in vue meters?

The switches on those decks which I have worked on almost my entire professional life do not fail all that often. Being I was a Teac Lead Technician in Chicago I only had to change one Microswitch in the 47 years I have worked on these and I can tell you it was no fun. I have a better idea of how to work on them now with some tricks learned along the years. The most common issue with no functions is due to Dummy plug being out or the wrong one. Check with DVM on ohm or diode test the pin 1 and 11 short no others.
Second the next most common this is the right tension arm. Does it go below 3 o'clock? If it does the the stop is broken and often when that happen by a hit of some kind it can break the microswitches attached to the cam drum the arm is attached to. The current Microswitch is called VX51A2 from Omron and Mouser and Digikey usually have them. They are not regular switches but 50g pressure switches. If the two above are out then try Newark or farnell depending on your country location.