Pro Tools Substitute

riqui.alves

I've been using Pro Tools for recording and mixing purposes for over a year now, and got quite used to it. The program itself is very good in terms of workflow, the only thing I dislike about it is the outdated interface, but it's no big deal. The thing is, I use a cracked version of it; I intended to pay for it, but I just can't afford 30$ every month, it's a lot of money here in Brazil. As a result, I get a lot of audio driver problems and random crashes. That being said, I wanted to migrate to another DAW, one that I could easily get the hang of considering I'm a Pro Tools user, and that is more affordable.

So what you want is a free DAW, as good as Pro Tools. I tried to compare the price so looked at a Big Mac - and the price of that in Brazil is very close to USA and UK - so I used that to put the price into perspective. If you want good software to do your music, it's going to be compromised by money - Music is expensive. Always has been, so I guess you have a choice to make?

The Reapevangelists are gonna recommend Reaper.
REAPER IS THE WAY!!!! Repent ye of the evil ProTools! 😁

For a real bargain, you can't beat Cakewalk by Bandlab. Totally free, so it's even cheaper than Reaper.

Reaper has lots of really good tutorials, so support is great. I haven't seen the same type of support for Cakewalk, at least not on their website. There are lower versions like Protools First but they usually come with limitations. If you never exceed 16 tracks, that might be sufficient.

So what you want is a free DAW, as good as Pro Tools. I tried to compare the price so looked at a Big Mac - and the price of that in Brazil is very close to USA and UK - so I used that to put the price into perspective. If you want good software to do your music, it's going to be compromised by money - Music is expensive. Always has been, so I guess you have a choice to make?