Mastering Plug-Ins

Yes let me clear some things up haha. First and foremost, the biggest problem was that the first stereo I checked the mix on was a pair of Bose computer speakers. This is where I listen to music everyday. I had no idea how much these speakers colored the sound. Extreme bass and highs, with no mids. Basically the drums were completely overwhelming and distorted, and the guitars sounded small and flat. I went on to a pair of good headphones, and another home stereo and further took notes of what needed help.

Going back to the mix on my monitors, I did a few corrections, fixed some extreme EQing that sounded good on my monitors but in a "real world" situation, did not.

Basically it's just a matter of me getting used to my monitors. Also, I went back to my mixes and boosted them as much as I could using the stock plug ins in Logic. Everything is sounding great as I am learning what is necessary to make a song.

I am very new to this!

Some of you guys are viscous, rude elitists. Thank you.

Order Izotope Ozone 3 or SpectraLive.

Those are good VST plug-ins for adjusting EQ, reverb, compression and dynamics. But make sure you go on youtube and watch a lot of tutorials on any program you buy though.

Watching a tutorial can help you to learn how to mix (because just using a limiter won't do ANYTHING for you right now) in addition to actually learning what the buttons and such mean.

Most important, don't get frustrated if things sound bad. I remember mixing one song 48 times in one day until I was completely satisfied with the mix. But you're not going to do it all in one day.

Good luck

Angelo, the fact that you said it "completely sounds like shit" is a very good sign because if you're just starting out of course it does and there'd be a real problem if you thought it was great when it was garbage.

Everybody's first mixes sound like shit.