Keyboard Amps (sorry guys)

Lectric_Lab

This subject has probably been covered over and over? I'm in the market for a keyboard amp, and not knowing anything about the multi-plug amplifiers offered would like to get opinions and suggestions. Seems they are all heavy in weight...my main choice right now is the Hartke200, I found a Carvin 3 channel acoustic amp, guess it could also be used and it weighs in under 40 lbs...help me guys! I'm gonna buy one soon, PA and monitor just aint cutting it. Thanks

I've been using a Peavey KB100 for a couple years now - got it off of eBay for a great price. Mine in particular is old (1987ish), but it's in great condition and takes any abuse you throw at it. I know people knock Peavey from time to time, but most of their stuff just won't die (which is a good thing IMO).

Mine gets plenty loud - more than I'd need I think even for larger venues.

Good luck!

remember we go lower than a bass and higher than a cymbal... so tyhe best thing to do is think small PA... i use a dbx tube pre driving dbx compressor and crossover to crown power with small jbl (mx410) for highs and ev 15L for bottoms...

I've posted this before but I have had bad luck with keyboard amps. I tried the Roland 550 and it sounded muddy to me. I used a Fender Bassman 200 and a Fender Twin Reverb (left and rights out) and the sound was better but not great. Now I have a Samson db500a 500 watt Bi-Amped Active LoudSpeaker.
It has a 15" low frequency driver with a high frequency horn. The sound is fantastic. The only problem I have is the weight of the thing. It's 61 lbs and to get the right sound I had to mount it on one of those heavy duty tripod poles. I need to find a case with wheels for that thing.
I brought my keyboard down to the local GC and tried all of the amps and this Samson sounded the best.