I can't get to sound like myself - people think Im impersonating Eminem...

kratos

Ive been rapping for about 2 years now and people keep saying/ thinking Im trying to impersonate or copy Eminem. I just don't know why but I can't get to sound like myself. Im more of a high pitched rapper as I can't really bass it...If I do bass it then I feel the lyrics to the song have lesser effect. I mean 2pac had a bassish voice and could have a lot of effect in his songs but me? I suck bassing it.
I dont want to be seen as trying to copy or be eminem but my fucking voice is just like that hence people think Imma bad impersonator!:mad:

Worse thing is ive writen songs which are a bit eminemish too but I cant help the fact that I too was beaten/bullied bad as a child and not talk about it in my songs?!

What should I do? How can I change myself? Do I even want to change myself?
I really dont know what to do because Im stumped.

I really dont have any help except on these forums ....

Yo man if that's your style then that's cool. There's tons of artists that sound like each other in every genre. As you continue making music you will develop your sound more and find out what you're good at and what you really sound like. In the meantime, why not make a song about not wanting to unintentially sound like other rappers? :D

Yo man if that's your style then that's cool. There's tons of artists that sound like each other in every genre. As you continue making music you will develop your sound more and find out what you're good at and what you really sound like. In the meantime, why not make a song about not wanting to intentionally sound like other rappers? :D
That last bit is a great idea ! And you could vent all your anger, resentment, bitterness and rage, but dress it up as humour to make something memorable.