I would like to start my own home and or bedroom walk in closet studio

R&B-N-JAZZ_LADY

"Music is My Passion"
Hi,
I am a newbie and singing is my passion. Before I go and spend money on anything, I would like to know whether or not am I on the right path in getting started; my budget is $500-$600.

Microphone: Shure SM57 or SM58?
Headphone: ?
Sound card: M-Audio Firewire 410 W/ external sound card
Software: Reason 4 or ?
Microphone POP Filter with Stand Clamp: Sony or Nady ?
Acoustic solution: Auralex expander or SE Electronics Reflexion Filter (Surf Serf filter)

Suggestions is greatly appreciated. Thank-you! :)

Looks like your off to a good start. Can you give some more specifics though, like what exactly do you plan on recording? Are you making beats then recording vocals over them? Or live instruments.

Drew

More info always helps.

I would recommend looking into Reaper, a very powerful recording program that is available as a free non-crippling demo that doesn't expire. You decide to keep it...$60....it's good and there are a lot of cats on here using it.
The money you save on this purchase can be put toward better quality mics or converters or what ever you choose.

Check out the microphone forum for a pretty good list of cheap mics that are recommended for recording vox.

Welcome to the forum.

Looks like your off to a good start. Can you give some more specifics though, like what exactly do you plan on recording? Are you making beats then recording vocals over them? Or live instruments.

Drew
I plan to make my own lyric of songs in R&B or Jazz like styles. Also, I am making beats with reason 4 (or whatever that I can afford) and record vocals over it.

More info always helps.

I would recommend looking into Reaper, a very powerful recording program that is available as a free non-crippling demo that doesn't expire. You decide to keep it...$60....it's good and there are a lot of cats on here using it.