USB interface suggestions

AxelCloris

Hey everyone.

I'm new to the home recording scene. I've done a fair bit of work on my school's equipment in our sound lab, but quite honestly I cannot afford things like Manley tube microphones and such on my personal budget. What I'm looking for today is a USB interface that I can use with my laptop to record voice only. I'm not looking to do music, so I know I don't need a large number of inputs on my interface. I'm currently looking for good USB interfaces in the $100 price range to run a simple single mic setup at my home for some light work. I've been looking at picking up a used Edirol UA25 (non-ex version) since I can get it in my price range. I've seen a few posts about this one here on the forums, but many of them are older and other devices have come out since then that may be better for my purpose. I'm curious if any of you who record vocals for music or voice overs may have some suggestions for someone who is starting out. I'm thinking about pairing this with a large diaphragm condenser mic, so I'd be looking for something that could do phantom power like the UA25 can. I've also been tossing around the idea of the Avid Fast Track and the Behringer 302USB, as they look to be pretty well reviewed on Amazon.

Thanks in advance!
Axel

Of your list, the M Audio (Avid) Fast Track Mk ii would be my choice. Make sure it's the Mk ii--there are lots of the original unit around and it's much less recommendable.

At this stage, though, consider whether a single mic input will be enough in the future. If you'll ever need a second mic or maybe some line level inputs, it's probably cheaper to save up a bit longer now than have to buy again in the future.

Saw this sweet USB single channel I/O in another thread in the last two weeks. Apparently very high quality. Click on the picture.

If you're looking for a large condenser I own and love the Sennheiser MK3. For my 'voice of God' I use the Shure SM7B.