How Do I Record Songs Better/Sing Better?

elliottlover

What I do currently is I use this mic:

Samson — G-Track

and I use Reaper. I just record a single track with me singing and playing and don't edit it. I put the mic about 30cm away from me at about guitar level and point it towards me.

I have had lessons on guitar in the past but have been self-taught for the last few years.

I have never had singing lessons, and it shows.

I'm not happy with my recordings. I have some original songs I'd like to record, and I think the ideas are good, but they just sound awful when I record them.

Last edited:
Listen..........I'm going to assume you know your result here is not stellar. Get closer to the mic or use two mics (one for your voice and one for the guitar) if you're not going to record your guitar part separately from your vocal. Get the volume right and then listen to it again. When you sing..........mean it.........don't hold back. If you're bad your bad.........but that's no excuse to not give it your all. You may find that putting more effort into your singing will improve it..........or not..........but you'll know for sure.

I'd first look at your gain staging, I couldn't imagine your monitoring signal is strong enough to let you hear yourself to hit certain notes, vibratos etc. If your new to recording please read up on the very basics such as gain staging, it will help and save you a lot of time in the long run. Also keep working at it if you are displeased with your results and keep in mind most musicians are their own worst critics.

How Do I Record Songs Better/Sing Better?

Ahhhhh....the question everyone here is always trying to answer, even the guys that are already good at it. :)

To use the classic joke to answer your question....

"How do I get to Carnegie Hall?" - a young musician asking for street directions.
"Practice, practice, practice." - the wise-ass answer, and one that applies to your situation. :D