What preamp for country-blues/folk music?

MIC83

Hi everyone, thanks for having me!
I'm a new member, i'm a musician from Italy.
I'm really into country-blues, finger style guitar, clawhammer banjo... That kind of stuff.
My gear for home recording is pretty basic: one Teac a-3340s reel to reel tape recorder and a Ear Trumpet Labs Louise large-diaphragm condenser microphone, that i use for guitar and vocals simultaneously.
I'm fairly happy with the results but i sure could be happier.
I think the next step has to be a mic preamp, but i don't know anything about it.
Can you recommed some suitable to my purpose? Tube or Solid State?
Thanks a lot!

Hi everyone, thanks for having me!
I'm a new member, i'm a musician from Italy.
I'm really into country-blues, finger style guitar, clawhammer banjo... That kind of stuff.
My gear for home recording is pretty basic: one Teac a-3340s reel to reel tape recorder and a Ear Trumpet Labs Louise large-diaphragm condenser microphone, that i use for guitar and vocals simultaneously.
I'm fairly happy with the results but i sure could be happier.
I think the next step has to be a mic preamp, but i don't know anything about it.
Can you recommed some suitable to my purpose? Tube or Solid State?
Thanks a lot!

Pretty deep question MIC83. I have a 3340 (rtrd) and sure, the mic pres are rather basic, not balanced*, no phantom power and probably noisy for anything not close and loud.

Then, the mic preamp market is huge and various! At one end is the uber clean stuff that will not modify the mic signal in any way to gear that has 'attitude' and adds its own 'colour' (aka 'distortion) to the sound. Gear in the latter camp is very personal and people like or not like various brands.

If you are seeking a pre with 'colour' them you will need to find a way to specify that here so the vastly experienced chaps who have used the kit can advise.