Total beginner--want to record acoustic guitar and vocals...

dumesday

I have a guitar, a laptop, and am getting Sonar X1 Essential. So obviously I need at least 1 mic and I don't know what else. Help--tell me what to get! I would like to spend less than $200 on everything, but would that be sacrificing too much in quality? I'd also ideally like to be able to use whatever mic I get for live performance too, but I don't know how compatible those things are. I'm a complete novice at this, so any advice you guys can give would be awesome. Thanks!

Hi there...

At minimum you'll need a USB audio interface (get 2 channels as a starter) and a microphone - assuming your guitar has a pickup, you can use your microphone to pick up the main sound and the pickup (which tends to sound gnarly on its own) to add to it..

Can you do it for $200? Depends upon the quality you're after. If you want decent quality I'd suggest that you perhaps save a bit more...

There are a million threads in this section about this topic. Do some reading.

Just some thoughts....

* what you want to do will be tough for $200 total. I like Armistice's advice - save more.
* you do need some sort of interface to plug the mic and guitar into... there are some cheap ones out there. Check out M-Audio and Cakewalk V-Studio 20.
* do you want to record vocal and guitar separately? That's typical. One mic could work, but the majority of decent acoustic guitar recordings are done with 2 small diaphragm condensor mics. There is a ton of info about micing acoustics on the internet. You can use a single large diaphragm mic ... that's what you'll want for vocals, anyway. Results on acoustic guitar are different than with 2 SDC's.
* recording the direct output from an acoustic guitar's built in electronics is usually very un-acoustic-like. Some might even say "gnarly." You won't want to record that way for very long.